Posted by: ateedub | June 13, 2008

Podcasts that Rock My World

#1 This American Life

This is the show that got me into podcasts. I think I’ve heard it on the radio at most twice (and seen the tv show once), but I listen to it every week, usually on my Monday commute.

#2 KCRW’s Left, Right & Center

As a political junkie, I really enjoy this show. It’s only a half hour, so it goes by really quickly.

#3 NPR’s Fresh Air

Terry Gross has fantastic guests. Her interview with Stephen Colbert is the funniest I’ve ever heard. But there are others that make me want to cry.

#4 Naked Scientists

Science is fun & funny from across the pond. This is a great way to keep up with some of the arcane but interesting latest discoveries.

#5 NPR’s Talk of the Nation/Science Friday

This call-in show restores my faith in human intelligence (most days).

#6 Across the Sound

Fun podcast from Joseph Jaffe (of JaffeJuice) focusing on new media marketing.

#7 This Week in Science

Another fun science podcast, this one from the US. 2 hours of science updates a week is often too much for me though, so I don’t always get to it.

I’ve also tried some music podcasts, and KCRW’s Bookworm. The problem with both is that they’re around an hour long, and just couldn’t keep my attention that whole time. I think half hour increments are much better – especially since I listen to my podcasts while commuting.

Interestingly, I’ve also considered subscribing to Meet the Press v-cast (vodcast?), but I prefer to DVR it and watch it at home.

Very strange, but I was just interrupted while writing that sentence about Meet the Press by someone calling to tell me Tim Russert died today. I’m in shock.

Leave a Reply

Categories

