Posted by: ateedub | July 30, 2008

Finally Forced my iPhone to Update

I was finally able to update my iPhone last night. After days of fighting with the software, which continued to freeze while registering, I updated to 2.0 firmware only to find that all of my contacts an email accounts were gone.

I don’t use a Mac and I have the 2G iPhone. I had no intention of subscribing to MobileMe since the iTunes synch works fine for me (and everyone seems so upset with it). Everyone else whose contacts were lost had them backed up on MobileMe. So finding help online was extremely difficult. I didn’t bother calling Apple since online reports said that neither the ‘geniuses’, nor the phone operators had any fixes.

4 hours later after lots of machinations with the files on the iPhone that I should never have to touch, I re-restored to an old backup of my iPhone that did have all of my contacts. I’d tell you how I did it, but I can’t find the links anymore – I was too frustrated (and too tired) to blog about it right after finishing.

So I now have everything working and even got the WordPress App. Very cool, except I can’t create links on my iPhone because Apple STILL hasn’t figured out copy/paste. *sigh*

Responses

  1. I agree on the cutting and pasting–I mean, does Microsoft have a patent on that or something? And attachments?


Leave a Reply

Categories

